Home » Soccer » Soccer Latest News » Cristiano Ronaldo named as the Best European Sportsperson 2017

Cristiano Ronaldo named as the Best European Sportsperson 2017

Posted By: |

After winning Ballon d’Or and Globe Soccer Award, Cristiano Ronaldo gets the third award in December 2017 as he is named as the Best European Sportsperson 2017 by the group of international news outlets. According to the recent press release by Los Blancos’ official website, Cristiano Ronaldo won the title for second year in a row. He won the award while surpassing several great athletes like Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Lewis Hamilton. The European Sportsperson of 2017 award is given by the Polish PAP agency since 1958 where 26 other media agencies are also involved in the voting process.

Cristiano Ronaldo named as the Best European Sportsperson 2017

Best European Sportsperson 2017

Cristiano Ronaldo won the Best European Sportsperson 2017 title

The Portuguese international was the flagship player of Real Madrid’s victory over La Liga and the UEFA Champions League last season. He scored 42 goals and provided 37 assists in these two competitions in the last season of 2016-17. And taking these achievements on account, it is quite obvious that he received the most trophies in the calendar year 2017 as a sportsperson. While winning the Best European Sportsperson 2017 award, Cristiano Ronaldo received 159 points where the second, third and fourth position holders are Lewis Hamilton from Formula 1 (143 points), Roger Federer from tennis (124 points) and Rafael Nadal also from tennis (113 points).

Roger Federer won the title for the most number of times as he was also received the title four years in a row. Besides individual achievements, Federer also received the award jointly with Yelena Isinbayeva in 2005. He received the title five times in 6 years from 2004 to 2009 where Rafael Nadal is the only one to break the continuous run of his rival. Besides these top four nominations for the sportsperson of the year 2017 award, Swedish swimmer Sarah Sjoestroem (75 points), Austrian alpine skiing star Marcel Hirscher (68 points), German biathlete Laura Dahlmeier (51 points), athlete Mohamed Farah (51 points), Britain’s road cyclist Chris Froome (50 points) and Greek athlete Ekaterini Stefanidi (41 points) were also nominated for the award this year.

Copyright © 2018 https://sporteology.net All rights reserved. The information contained in our site may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority