Home » Cricket » Ashes Series » When was the last Ashes series?

When was the last Ashes series?

Posted By: |

In this article, we will unfold the answer to when was the last Ashes series. Besides this, we also summarise the brief detail of the squads of both the teams along with all five test matches of the last ashes series.

The question that usually arises in the mind of a sports lover is, When was the last Ashes series? And the answer to this question is very elementary to all the Ashes fans out there. Last time, the Ashes Test series was held in the year 2015. The Ashes 2015 was a series of 5 cricket matches played between England and Australia. The places were Cardiff, London, Birmingham, Nottingham and (the Oval) London.

When was the last Ashes series?

when was the last ashes series?

England vs Australia

The question regarding “When was the last Ashes series?” Will be answered comprehensively in this article. So keep reading.

Ashes 2015 England win

When was the last Ashes series?- Ashes 2015

Overall Facts and Figures

  • The Ashes 2015 was sponsored by Investec.
  • It was held between 8th July 2015 to 24th August 2015.
  • The location of the 5 matches was England and Wales.
  • The Result was: England won the series 3–2, regaining the Ashes after taking an unassailable lead with victory in the fourth Test.
  • The Player of the series was Chris Rogers (AUS) and Joe Root (ENG).
  • The Compton-Miller medal was presented to Joe Root of England this time.
  • The Australian captain was Michael Clarke and the English captain was Alistair Cook.
  • The players that scored the most runs scored in the Australian team are: 1st– Steve Smith (508), 2nd– Chris Rogers (480), 3rd– David Warner (418)
  • The players that scored the  most runs scored in the English team are: 1st– Joe Root (460), 2nd– Alistair Cook (330), 3rd– Moeen Ali (293)
  • The players that took the most number of wickets in the Australian squad are 1st– Mitchell Starc (18), 2nd– Josh Hazlewood (16), 3rd– Nathan Lyon (16).
  • The players that took the most number of wickets in the English squad are 1st– Start Broad (21), 2nd– Steven Finn (12), 3rd– Moeen Ali (12).
England Series Champions

England Series Champions

With this series, the four-year cycle of Ashes series in England is being brought forward by two years. Similarly, series in Australia was brought forward one year beginning with the 2013-2014 series. This rescheduling was to avoid a clash with the World Cup 2015, which was hosted by Australia and New Zealand, and future World Cup preparations. England last hosted the Ashes in the year 2013. In March 2015, Australia announced a 17-man touring party for the Ashes Series whereas England announced their squad for the first Test in the month of July. Australia fast bowler Ryan Harris announced his retirement from cricket days before the start of the series, due to an ongoing knee injury. He was replaced by New fast bowler Pat Cummins.

Australian Squad

Australian Squad

Australian Squad

Michael Clarke (C), Steve Smith (VC), Brad Haddin (wk), Fawad Ahmed, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazzlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Peter Nevill (WK), Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, David Warner, Shane Watson.

England Squad

England Squad

England Squad

Alistair Cook (C), Joe Root (VC), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Gary Balance, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler (WK), Steven Finn, Mark Footitt, Adam Lyth, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Ben Stokes, Mark Wood.

In this article of “When was the last Ashes series?” we are also going to discuss the results and figures of the various matches in brief.

English Players Celebrating

England Players Celebrating

1st Match (8th – 12th July) – Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

England won the toss and elected to bat first.

England- 430 (101.2 overs), Joe Root 134 (166), Mitchell Starc 5/114 (24.1 overs).

2nd Inns- England- 289 (70.1 overs), Joe Root 60 (89), Ian Bell 60 (89), Nathan Lyon 4/75 (20.1 overs).

Australia- 308 (84.5 overs), Chris Rogers 95 (133), James Anderson 3/43 (18.5 overs).

2nd Inns- Australia- 242 (70.3 overs), Mitchell Johnson 77(94), Stuart Broad 3/39 (14 overs).

England Won by 169 runs.

2nd Match (16th – 20th July) – Lord’s, London

Australia won the toss and elected to bat first.

Australia- 566/8d (149 overs), Steve Smith 215 (346), Stuart Broad 4/83 (27 overs).

2nd Inns- Australia- 252/2d (49 overs), David Warner 83(116), Moeen Ali 2/78 (16 overs).

England- 312 (90.1 overs), Alistair Cook 96 (233), Mitchell Johnson 3/53 (20.1 overs).

2nd Inns- England- 103 (37 overs), Stuart Broad 25(17), Mitchell Johnson 3/27 (10 overs).

Australia won by 405 run.

3rd Match (29thJuly-2nd August) – Edgbaston, Birmingham

Australia won the toss and elected to bat first.

Australia- 136 (36.4 overs), Chris Rogers 52 (89), James Anderson 6/47 (14.4 overs).

2nd Inns- Australia- 265 (79.1 overs), David Warner 77(62), Steven Finn 6/79 (21 overs).

England- 281 (67.1 overs), Joe Root 63(75), Nathan Lyon 3/36 (13 overs).

2nd Inns- England- 124/2 (32.1 overs), Ian Bell 65*(90), Josh Hazzlewood 1/21 (17 overs).

England won by 8 wickets.

4th Match (6th-10th August) – Trent Bridge, Nottingham

England won the toss and elected to field first.

Australia- 60 (18.3 overs), Mitchell Johnson 13(25), Stuart Broad 8/15 (9.3 overs).

2nd Inns- Australia- 253 (72.4 overs), David Warner 64(74), Ben Stokes 6/36 (21 overs).

England- 391/9d (85.2 overs), Joe Root 130(176), Mitchell Starc 6/111 (27 overs).

England won by an innings and 78 runs.

5th Match (20th-24th August) –the Oval, London

England won the toss and elected to field first.

Australia- 481 (121.5 overs), Steve Smith 143(252), Steven Finn 3/90 (29.1 overs).

England- 149 (48.4 overs), Moeen Ali 30(61), Mitchell Jhonson 3/21 (8.4 overs).

2nd Inns- England- 286 (101.4 overs)F/O, Alistair Cook 85(234), Peter Siddle 4/35 (24.4 overs).

Australia won by an innings and 46 runs.

Thus the answer to the question “When was the last Ashes series? “ is given above. The Ashes trophy 2015 was presented to England immediately after their defeat in the fifth Test. Thus we end this topic here. Feel free to leave comments below.


Copyright © 2018 https://sporteology.net All rights reserved. The information contained in our site may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority